3D Children’s Charity named Friends of Education, PWPSD teacher Nicole Cooper wins Zone 1 Edwin Parr Teacher Award

Grande Prairie, AB – Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWPSD) joined with Grande Prairie Public School Division (GPPSD) and Grande Prairie Catholic School Division (GPCSD) in a joint Friends of Education Award presentation to the 3D Children's Charity during a special luncheon yesterday, part of the annual Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 1 meeting held at the Peace River School Division office. Edwin Parr Teacher Award Zone 1 nominees are also honoured at the event for their outstanding first year of teaching, including PWPSD nominee Nicole Cooper of Sexsmith Secondary School who was also named the overall winner for Zone 1. 

3D Children's Charity recipient of tri-board Friends of Education Award

The annual Friends of Education Award presentation provides an opportunity for each Zone 1 school division to acknowledge local organizations for their contributions to education. This year's joint nomination provided an avenue for PWPSD, GPPSD and GPCSD to express their gratitude and publicly acknowledge the impact of the 3D Children's Charity's past, present and ongoing support for students in need of medical treatment. GPPSD Trustee Andre Ouellette presented the award on behalf of the three boards to Darren Foley, Chair of the 3D Children's Charity. 


PWPSD Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee Nicole Cooper named overall Zone 1 winner

Sexsmith Secondary School (SSS) Assistant Principal Jennifer Thompson was on hand to present an Edwin Parr Teacher Award to PWPSD nominee Nicole Cooper, in recognition of her outstanding first year of teaching math and science at SSS during the past school year. During the event, Miss Cooper was also named the overall Zone 1 winner.

Ms. Thompson commended the first-year teacher for her collaboration with colleagues and the depth of practice she brings to the school.

"Her understanding of relationships, pedagogy and assessment are at the level of a seasoned teacher.

"Miss Cooper exceeds in all aspects of teaching, but fostering effective relationships is a highlight of her practice that does not stop at the classroom. She has worked tirelessly as coach of the boy's volleyball team and is an example of a great leader who not only grows great athletes; she also coaches them on how to be good people. She has worked with parents through a difficult situation and offers a sign-up sheet for students to add the date and time of their extracurricular events so that she can go and watch them."

Miss Cooper says she is honoured to be named the Zone 1 winner.

"I honestly don't think the news has fully sunken in yet. I was just coming to terms with the privilege and honour of being nominated. My fellow nominees are an amazing group, and it makes me so happy to know there is a generation of dedicated, innovative young teachers who are ready to take the profession by storm. I am also thankful for the amazing mentors already in the profession, paving a way for us and always ready to help us grow as educators."

School Boards are restricted to nominating a single candidate for the Zone award. As the overall Edwin Parr Teacher Award winner for Zone 1, Miss Cooper will be among the winners from each of Alberta's six zones to be honoured for their outstanding achievement at the annual province-wide ASBA celebration. Planning is still underway for the event which is expected to be virtual this year.

Photos courtesy of Holy Family Catholic Regional Division:

Published Print